Finance Review — President Volpe 10 years — New Athletic Center Speech

SGA has been busy meeting and being the voice of the students. Get in contact with us through our email: sga.org@hood.edu.

Last Thursday, Oct. 13, we had Chuck Mann, the vice president of finance and treasurer, come to present the school budget and how our money was being used. It was a very informative presentation and showed that compared to the 15 or so schools that we are compared to, Hood is the middle of the pack when it comes to pricing. This included tuition and fees, along with room and board. There were only a few general students there, and I thank those who came out because I think it was rewarding.The next day, I had someone in one of my classes say that Hood’s pricing, “is ridiculous.” If only that student came to that meeting, maybe her mind could have been changed. We aim to present the information, it is the students choice whether or not to listen to it.

I want to thank the students for coming out to support President Volpe’s 10 year celebration. He has done amazing things for this place and will continue to do so. I meet regularly with President Volpe, so if you have any issues that need to be brought to the top, please don’t hesitate to come right to me.

President Volpe asked me to speak at the new athletic center opening on Nov. 4 at 3 p.m. and I am honored to do so. I will be speaking for two to three minutes about what this means to the students. If you have anything that you want me to say on behalf of the students, please let me know and I will put it in my remarks.

SGA is participating in Safe Harvest on Oct. 27, so come by and check out our costumes. It starts at 5 p.m. and goes until 8 p.m.

Speak Up Hood College…SGA Has Your Back.

 

Leave a Reply

