Working with Administrators, Vandalism on Campus

My second-to-last post of the semester will focus on working with administrators/staff, because I have learned how to deal with people who I might not work with best. Also, there has been vandalism on campus again recently, and it is getting out of hand, so I want to write a little bit about that.

As I started my first year at Hood, I wasn’t involved in any activities other than the newspaper in high school. I wrote a couple of articles to chip in and that is it. When I came to Hood, I was able to get involved right away because of Dr. Ted Chase, who many of you probably know. I have worked with the 2012 class council, the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC), Student’s Providing Understanding and Resource’s (SPURs), a secret group called Trail Blazers for a little while, and of course, SGA. I have met with every important administrator/staff member on this campus, although I don’t see eye-to-eye with some.

The biggest thing when it comes to working with someone you don’t like

is to sit down with them and be straight forward with them that you understand you have had your bumps in the road, but that you are trying to accomplish something at this institution for a reason. Whenever someone doesn’t agree with a decision that I’ve decided to make, I have always had at least three reasons of why it would benefit the Hood community. Not only did I have these benificial reasons, but I brought challenges to the table as well. I talked to my dad when I was home for winter break, and he noticed I said the word ‘issue’ a lot on this blog and that they are challenges, not issues. And the thing is, he is 100 percent right. Not every administrator is going to agree with what you are going to do, but if you are passionate about it, then do it. This is a college campus, one where ideas should not be limited. If an administrator/staff member tries to limit your ideas, try what I just recommended. If that doesn’t work, come to me and I would be glad to help you out. I know it can be stressful, but there are always ways to get around obstacles.

Vandalism is becoming more worrisome to me and others as each week goes on. We all just received an email about slashed tires. Understand, students, that this is a very small group that is committing these crimes. People committ vandalism because they don’t receive attention on a regular basis, and this is their way of doing it. Because we have had challenges this year when it comes to vandalism does not mean we fall apart as a community. I came to Hood because I knew that I would be safe and would enjoy my four years. Just because a few students do awful things doesn’t mean that we fall apart as a student body…it means that we come together as a family. Let’s have each other’s back to not only when it comes to finding these students, but also during finals week. Be of support to others, because everyone is dealing with something in their life.

Speak Up Hood College…SGA Has Your Back


Leave a comment